Jul 15
~
Jul 18

Disconnected – Online Theatre Performance

Online
¥1,000 (advance sales)

Theatre Mangekyo’s first public performance is an online work-in-progress theatre piece called Disconnected. The story revolves around the daily lives of modern-day gods within an online-like sphere of existence.

The work is inspired by and developed from Japanese mythology and the lived experiences of the ensemble members around the world. However, it is not a retelling of Japanese mythology, but a window into the real lives of people in Japan.

The goal of the workshop performance is to showcase the progress we have made so far and to receive feedback that will help develop a full script. The themes closely relate to the experiences of several yet under-represented groups in Japan, and this workshop is our first step to bringing their stories to the stage.

  • Show 1: July 15th (Thu) at 19:30 JST / 06:30 EDT / 03:30 PDT
  • Show 2: July 16th (Fri) at 19:30 JST / 06:30 EDT / 03:30 PDT
  • Show 3: July 17th (Sat) at 11:30 JST / July 16th (Fri) at 22:30 EDT / July 16th (Fri) at 19:30 PDT
  • Show 4: July 18th (Sun) at 9:00 JST / July 17th (Sat) at 20:00 EDT / July 17th at (Sat) 17:00 PDT
  • Show 5: July 18th (Sun) at 19:30 JST / 06:30 EDT / 03:30 PDT
To prevent the spread of COVID-19, many events have been canceled. Always check official sites before heading to an event.

Tokyo's Best Events and Cultural Activities in Your Inbox Every Week

Related Events
  • tokyo flea market
    Sun, Nov
    28

    Akasaka Antique Market in Ark Hills

    The Ark Hills antique market is much classier compared to some of Tokyo’s usual fairs. In addition to the amazing finds you can usually dig up at a flea market like jewelry and home goods, you can also find stylish […]

    11:00am – 5:00pm
    Free
  • Nov 27
    ~
    Nov 28

    Hanakawado Hakidaore-ichi Shoe Market

    Every year the Hanakawado wholesale district in Taito-ku assembles up to 40 retailers and wholesalers stalls to line-up around Hanakawado Park to sell a wide-range of products. From footwear to handbags, accessories, leather goods, scarves, hats, and more. All the […]

    10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Streetdancer
    Nov 22
    ~
    Nov 28

    Shibuya Street Dance Week

    Newer to the Yoyogi Park event scene, this yearly dance festival is already wildly popular. There will be dance performances, battles and even workshops. And doesn’t matter your skill level, everyone and anyone is invited to participate.

    11:00am
    Free
  • Nov 26
    ~
    Nov 28

    Nabe Festival

    Nabe is a popular winter dish in Japan. Nabe literally means “pot,” but it’s used as a generic term for soups or light stews cooked in an iron or clay pot. Made with dashi (soup stock), vegetables, and meat, nabe has […]

    Free